By Guled A. Mahir

Members of the House of Representatives from Sool, Sanaag, and Buuhoodle have confirmed their people’s loyalty to the cause of a united Somaliland. The MPs and councilors Lasanod, Hudun, and Taleeh converged at Sool regional headquarters office and reiterated their allegiance to Somaliland.  The legislators and councilors stated that the anti-Somaliland sentiments were funded by foes of the country with ulterior motives.

Addressing a joint press conference in Sool governor’s office their spokesman Hon. Ahmed Asowe sent condolences to the bereaved families and relatives of people who have lost their lives over the years in Lasanood.

The MPs released a 15-point memorandum. They urged the people of these three regions to let peace, security, and harmonious existence reign supreme.

The legislators and councilors affirmed that Sool, Sanaag, and Buuhoodle regions are part and parcel of the Republic of Somaliland jurisdiction. They thanked the government for taking responsibility for the deceased people.

The government of Somaliland announced it will pay for the blood money (Diya) of people who lost their lives in Lasanood.

“We unanimously urge the people to avoid any kind of violence and destruction of property in protests. We also ask the security forces not to use live ammunition to quell demonstrations to minimize loss of lives”, the leaders stated.

They said, “We are against calls by some people for removal of Somaliland Army personnel manning security at these volatile regions.”

They concurred on the importance of the army in securing the nation’s borders from infiltration of Alshabab and other  Somaliland enemies with clandestine motives of causing civil strife and fermenting insecurity.