By M.A. Egge

Finance Minister Hon. Dr. Saad Ali Shire on Thursday honoured a number of taxpayers for their promptness, in the third such annual event in a row.

An event organized by the Ministry of Finance and attended by the Deputy Minister of Trade, the Hargeisa mayor, the Chairman of the Chamber of Commerce, the Director General of Finance and various businessmen to reward the best taxpayers this year was held in Hargeisa.

The director of Inland Revenue stated that said that 31 taxpayers were deemed the most prompt in the year.

The Director General Mr. Mohamed Abdi Gurhan, noted that this is the third year in a row that treasury is awarding such taxpayers.

“It is an occasion for us to thank all the taxpayers in general, for patriotism in adherence to instructions of the administration of the tax code”, he said.

The mayor of the capital Cllr. Abdikarim Ahmed Mooge who made a speech praised the awarded entrepreneurs.

Minister of Finance Dr. Saad Ali Shire said that they gathered at an event that included congratulations, compliments, cheering and encouragement.

Dr. Saad pointed out that there are different types of taxpayers, some of whom pay their dues without being asked, while others do not pay until they are asked to on several occasions.